Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
8:00   Registration and Breakfast
8:45   Opening remarks
9:00   Addressing and Topology
10:30   Break
11:00   Applications
12:30   Lunch
2:00   Classification and Sampling
3:30   Break
4:00   Measurement Systems and Frameworks
6:00   Dinner
    Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
8:30   Breakfast
9:00   Wireless 802.11
10:30   Break
11:00   Tools
12:30   Lunch
2:00   Characterization and Trends
3:30   Break
4:00   Malware and Anomalies
5:00   Closing remarks
  Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
   (8:00)   Registration and Breakfast
   (8:45)   Opening Remarks (pdf, ppt)
   (9:00)   Addressing and Topology
  Session chair: Mark Claypool (WPI)
    The Flattening Internet Topology: Natural Evolution, Unsightly Barnacles or Contrived Collapse? (slides)
    (Winner! Best Paper Based on a New Dataset)
Authors: Phillipa Gill (University of Calgary)
  Martin Arlitt (HP Labs/University of Calgary)
  Zongpeng Li (University of Calgary)
  Anirban Mahanti (Indian Institute of Technology - Delhi)
    Assessing the Geographic Resolution of Exhaustive Tabulation (slides)
Authors: S.S. Siwpersad (Delft University of Technology)
  Bamba Gueye (Universite de Liege)
  Steve Uhlig (Delft University of Technology)
    Observations of IPv6 Addresses (slides)
Author: David Malone (Hamilton Institute, NUIM Maynooth, Ireland)
   (10:30)   Break
   (11:00)   Applications
  Session chair: Nevil Brownlee (University of Auckland)
    The New Web: Characterizing AJAX Traffic (slides)
Authors: Fabian Schneider (TU Berlin / DT Labs)
  Sachin Agarwal (DT Labs)
  Tansu Alpcan (DT Labs)
  Anja Feldmann (TU Berlin / DT Labs)
    Measurement and Estimation of Network QoS among Peer Xbox 360 Game Players (slides)
Authors: Youngki Lee (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Tech.)
  Sharad Agarwal (Microsoft Research)
  Chris Butcher (Bungie Studios)
  Jitu Padhye (Microsoft Research)
    Evaluation of VoIP Quality over WiBro (slides)
Authors: Mongnam Han (KAIST)
  Youngseok Lee (Chungnam National University)
  Sue Moon (KAIST)
  Keon Jang (KAIST)
  Dooyoung Lee (KAIST)
   (12:30)   Lunch
   (2:00)   Classification and Sampling
  Session chair: Steve Uhlig (Delft University of Technology)
    Packet Sampling for Flow Accounting: Challenges and Limitations (slides)
Authors: Tanja Zseby (Fraunhofer Institute FOKUS)
  Thomas Hirsch (Fraunhofer Institute FOKUS)
  Benoit Claise (Cisco Systems)
    On the Validation of Traffic Classification Algorithms (slides)
Authors: Geza Szabo (Ericsson)
  Daniel Orincsay (Ericsson)
  Szabolcs Malomsoky (Ericsson)
  Istan Szabo (Ericsson)
    Evaluation of Header Field Entropy for Hash-Based Packet Selection (slides)
Authors: Christian Henke (Fraunhofer Institute Fokus)
  Carsten Schmoll (Fraunhofer Institute Fokus)
  Tanja Zseby (Fraunhofer Institute Fokus)
   (3:30)   Break
   (4:00)   Measurement Systems and Frameworks
  Session chair: Simon Leinen (Switch)
    A Reactive Measurement Framework (slides)
Authors: Mark Allman (ICSI)
  Vern Paxson (ICSI)
    Towards a High Quality Path-oriented Network Measurement and Storage System (slides)
Authors: David Johnson (University of Utah)
  Daniel Gebhardt (University of Utah)
  Jay Lepreau (University of Utah)
    On Community-Oriented Internet Measurement (slides)
Authors: Mark Allman (ICSI)
  Lann Martin (Case Western Reserve University)
  Michael Rabinovich (Case Western Reserve University)
  Kenneth Atchinson (Baldwin-Wallace College)
   (6:00)   Dinner
  Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
   (8:30)   Breakfast
   (9:00)   Wireless 802.11
  Session chair: Graciela Perera (Youngstown State University)
    On the Effectiveness of Switched Beam Antennas in Indoor Environments (slides)
Authors: Marc Blanco (Rice University)
  Ravi Kokku (NEC Laboratories America, Princeton)
  Kishore Ramachandran (Rutgers University)
  Sampath Rangarajan (NEC Laboratories America, Princeton)
  Karthik Sundaresan (NEC Laboratories America, Princeton)
    On the Fidelity of 802.11 Packet Traces (slides)
Authors: Aaron Schulman (University of Maryland, College Park)
  Dave Levin (University of Maryland, College Park)
  Neil Spring (University of Maryland, College Park)
    Refocusing in 802.11 Wireless Measurement (slides)
Authors: Udayan Deshpande (Dartmouth College)
  Chris McDonald (The University of Western Australia)
  David Kotz (Dartmouth College)
   (10:30)   Break
   (11:00)   Tools
  Session chair: Martin Arlitt (Hewlett-Packard)
    Pathdiag: Automatic TCP Diagnosis (slides)
Authors: Matt Mathis (Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center)
  John Heffner (Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center)
  Peter O'Neil (Mid-Atlantic Crossroads)
  Pete Siemsen (National Center for Atmospheric Research)
    SCUBA: Focus and Context for Real-time Mesh Network Health Diagnosis (slides)
Authors: Amit P. Jardosh (UC Santa Barbara)
  Panuakdet Suwannatat (UC Santa Barbara)
  Tobias Hollerer (UC Santa Barbara)
  Elizabeth M. Belding (UC Santa Barbara)
  Kevin C. Almeroth (UC Santa Barbara)
    IMR-Pathload: Robust Available Bandwidth Estimation under End-Host Interrupt Delay (slides)
Authors: Seong-Ryong Kang (Texas A&M University)
  Dmitri Loguinov (Texas A&M University)
   (12:30)   Lunch
   (2:00)   Characterization and Trends
  Session chair: Mark Claypool (WPI)
    A Measurement Study of Internet Delay Asymmetry (slides)
Authors: Abhinav Pathak (Purdue University)
  Himabindu Pucha (Purdue University)
  Ying Zhang (University of Michigan)
  Y. Charlie Hu (Purdue University)
  Z. Morley Mao (University of Michigan)
    Trends and Differences in Connection Behavior within Classes of Internet Backbone Traffic (slides)
Authors: Wolfgang John (Chalmers University of Technology)
  Sven Tafvelin (Chalmers University of Technology)
  Tomas Olovsson (Chalmers University of Technology)
    The Cubicle vs. The Coffee Shop: Behavioral Modes in Enterprise End-Users (slides)
Authors: Frederic Giroire (INRIA)
  Jaideep Chandrashekar (Intel Research)
  Gianluca Iannaccone (Intel Research)
  Dina Papagiannaki (Intel Research)
  Eve Schooler (Intel Research)
  Nina Taft (Intel Research)
   (3:30)   Break
   (4:00)   Malware and Anomalies
  Session chair: Dwight Makaroff (University of Saskatchewan)
    A Two-Layered Anomaly Detection Technique based on Multi-modal Flow Behavior Models (slides)
Authors: Marc Ph. Stoecklin (IBM Research)
  Jean-Yves Le Boudec (EPFL)
  Andreas Kind (IBM Research)
    Malware in IEEE 802.11 Wireless Networks (slides)
Authors: Brett Stone-Gross (UC Santa Barbara)
  Christo Wilson (UC Santa Barbara)
  Kevin Almeroth (UC Santa Barbara)
  Elizabeth Belding (UC Santa Barbara)
  Heather Zheng (UC Santa Barbara)
  Konstantina Papagiannaki (Intel Research)
   (5:00)   Closing Remarks